

# Meeting of the Council Minutes - 18 July 2018

# **Attendance**

Mayor Cllr Phil Page (Lab) **Deputy Mayor** Cllr Claire Darke (Lab)

#### Labour

Cllr Obaida Ahmed Cllr Steve Evans Cllr Ian Angus Cllr Val Evans Cllr Harbans Bagri Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal Cllr Harman Banger Cllr Val Gibson Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre Cllr Philip Bateman MBE Cllr Celia Hibbert Cllr Paval Bedi-Chadha Cllr Keith Inston Cllr Peter Bilson Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Alan Bolshaw Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Welcome Koussoukama Cllr Ian Brookfield Cllr Roger Lawrence Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Hazel Malcolm Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Asha Mattu Cllr Jasbinder Dehar Cllr Barbara McGarrity

Cllr Louise Miles Cllr Beverley Momenabadi Cllr Lynne Moran **Cllr Anwen Muston** Cllr Peter O'Neill Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Susan Roberts MBE Cllr Zee Russell

Cllr Sandra Samuels OBE Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Clare Simm Cllr Paul Sweet

Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman

Cllr Martin Waite

#### Conservative

Cllr Simon Bennett Cllr Udey Singh Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Jane Stevenson Cllr Sohail Khan Cllr Wendy Thompson Cllr Paul Singh Cllr Jonathan Yardley

### **Employees**

Kevin O'Keefe Director of Governance Tim Johnson Managing Director Meredith Teasdale Director of Education Ian Fegan **Head of Communications** 

**Tracey Christie** Head of Legal

Laura Phillips Head of Business Management Director of Children's Services **Emma Bennett David Watts Director of Adult Services** 

Alison Shannon **Chief Accountant** 

The proceedings opened with Prayers

Item No. Title

# 1 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Alan Butt and Arun Photay.

#### 2 Declarations of interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

# 3 Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Roger Lawrence presented the report on Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman. He requested that pursuant to the powers contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman to former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne in recognition of their eminent services to the City of Wolverhampton Council.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Roger Lawrence advised that at present former Councillor Tersaim Singh requested not to be considered for Honorary Alderman.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Roger Lawrence proposed the recommendations, Councillor Wendy Thompson seconded the recommendations. They paid tribute to the contributions of former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne had made to the City of Wolverhampton.

#### Resolved:

That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Ian Claymore, Barry Findlay, Malcolm Gwinnett, Andrew Johnson, Christine Mills, Patricia Patten, Judith Rowley and Andrew Wynne.